New Hampshire


One of the original 13 states (it entered the Union in 1788), New Hampshire was named after the English county of Hampshire. New Hampshire is called the “Granite State” because of its numerous granite quarries; the nickname may also reflect the state’s attachment to tradition and its history of a frugal government. There are no general sales or individual income taxes, which fits with the state motto of “Live free or die.” A relatively small state, New Hampshire plays a major role every four years in the presidential election, as it holds the first primary election. New Hampshire’s state bird is the purple finch and its capital is Concord.

Capital City: Concord
Nickname: Granite State
Motto: Live free or die
Statehood: June 21, 1788 (9th)
Origin of State’s Name: Named for Hampshire, England, by Captain John Mason
Largest Cities: Manchester, Nashua, Concord, Derry, Rochester
Border States: Maine, Massachusetts, Vermont
Land Area: 8,969 sq. mi., 44th largest
State Bird: Purple Finch
State Flower: Purple Lilac (syringa vulgaris)
State Tree: White Birch (betula papyrifera)
State Song: Old New Hampshire