Nebraska gets its name from an Indian word meaning “flat water” after the Platte River that flows through the state. The Nebraska Territory was formed in 1854 at the same time as the Kansas Territory. Nebraska was admitted into the Union in 1867 as the 37th state. Its nickname, “Cornhusker State,” refers to the way that corn (a leading product of the state) was commonly harvested, “husking” it by hand, before the invention of husking machinery. Another nickname, the “Beef State,” refers to one of Nebraska’s main industries, cattle. Omaha has been a major meatpacking center since the 1880s. Although Omaha was the territorial capital, Lincoln, named in honor of the 16th president, is the state capital. The flower is the goldenrod.

Capital City: Lincoln
Nickname: Cornhusker State
Motto: Equality before the law
Statehood: March 1, 1867 (37th)
Origin of State’s Name: Based on an Otos Indian word that means “flat water,” referring to the Platte River
Largest Cities: Omaha, Lincoln, Grand Island, Bellevue, Kearney
Border States: Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, South Dakota, Wyoming
Land Area: 78,878 sq.mi., 15th largest
State Bird: Western Meadowlark
State Flower: Goldenrod (solidago)
State Tree: Eastern Cottonwood (populus deltoides)
State Song: Beautiful Nebraska