Situated in the Deep South, Louisiana, the “Pelican State,” has a colorful history and was named in honor of King Louis XIV. A strong French influence is still evident throughout the state–its capital city is named Baton Rouge, French for “red stick,” because the French-Canadian explorer Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville visited the area in 1699 and observed a red cypress post. Today the city of New Orleans is known for its Mardi Gras and jazz festivals.

Capital City: Baton Rouge
Nickname: Pelican State
Motto: Union, justice, and confidence
Statehood: April 30, 1812 (18th)
Origin of State’s Name: Named in honor of France’s King Louis XIV.
Largest Cities: New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Lafayette, Kenner
Border States: Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas
Land Area: 43,566 sq. mi.; 33rd largest
State Bird: Eastern Brown Pelican
State Flower: Magnolia (magnolia)
State Tree: Bald Cypress (taxodium distichum)
State Song: Give Me Louisiana