Although it is sometimes called the “Corn State,” Iowa really is a breadbasket for the U.S., with 90 percent of its land devoted to farming. The main products are corn and hogs. Named for the Iowa River, which was named for the Iowa, or Ioway, Indians, Iowa joined the Union in 1846 as the 29th state. The wild rose is the state flower and the capital is Des Moines

Capital City: Des Moines
Nickname: Hawkeye State / Corn State
Motto: Our liberties we prize and our rights we will maintain.
Statehood: December 28, 1846 (29th)
Origin of State’s Name: From the Dakota Indian word “Ayuhwa,” meaning “sleepy ones,” referring to a tribe living in that area
Largest Cities: Des Moines, Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Sioux City, Waterloo
Border States: Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota, Wisconsin
Land Area: 55,875 sq. mi.; 23rdlargest
State Bird: Eastern Goldfinch
State Flower: Wild Prairie Rose (rosa pratincola)
State Tree: Oak (quercus)
State Song: The Song of Iowa