Indiana means “land of the Indians.” It joined the Union in 1816 as the 19th state. Today, Indiana is a state of mostly small towns and midsize cities. Its largest city and capital is Indianapolis, where the nation’s most famous auto race, the Indianapolis 500, is held each year. The state’s residents are commonly referred to as “Hoosiers” although no one seems certain just how the name originated. The peony is the state flower.

Capital City: Indianapolis
Nickname: Hoosier State
Motto: The Crossroads of America
Statehood: December 11,1816 (19th)
Origin of State’s Name: “Land of the Indians.”
Largest Cities: Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, Evansville, Gary, South Bend
Border States: Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio
Land Area: 35,870 sq. mi., 38th largest
State Bird: Cardinal
State Flower: Peony
State Tree: Tulip tree (liriodendron tulipifera)
State Song: On the banks of the Wabash