Known today as the “Peach State,” Georgia, founded in 1733, is one of the original 13 states. It was named in honor of England’s King George II. During the Civil War, the fall of Atlanta was a crucial turning point in the defeat of the South. Today, Atlanta, which became Georgia’s capital in 1868, is a thriving city with major national corporations, and it is considered the economic and cultural center of the Southeast. The state flower is the Cherokee rose.

Capital City: Atlanta
Nickname: Peach State / Goober state/ Empire State of the South
Motto: Wisdom, justice, and moderation
Statehood: January 2, 1788 (4th)
Origin of State’s Name: Named for King George II of England.
Largest Cities: Atlanta, Columbus, Savannah, Macon, Albany
Border States: Alabama, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee
Land Area: 57,919 sq. mi.; 21st largest
State Bird: Brown Thrasher
State Flower: Cherokee Rose (rosa laevigata)
State Tree: Live oak (quercus virginiana)
State Song: Georgia on My Mind