With the state motto of “Liberty and Independence,” it’s no surprise that Delaware was the first of the original 13 states of the Union; it’s often called the “First” or “Diamond State.” The state’s name comes from the original governor of Virginia, Thomas West, Lord De La Warr. William Penn acquired the land that makes up Delaware to keep his Pennsylvania colony from being landlocked. Today, Delaware is one of the most industrialized states, known for its chemical research. Dover is the capital; the state flower is the peach blossom.

Capital City: Dover
Nickname: First State / Diamond State
Motto: Liberty and Independence
Statehood: Dec. 7, 1787 (1st)
Origin of State’s Name: Named after Lord De La Warr, an early Virginia governor.
Largest Cities: Wilmington, Dover, Newark, Bethany, Milton
Border States: Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania
Land Area: 1,955 sq. mi.; 49th largest
State Bird: Blue Hen Chicken
State Flower: Peach Blossom
State Tree: American Holly (ilex opaca)
State Song: Our Delaware